Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reader's Advisory For Adult Spanish Language Patrons: Getting Started

This is a guide for librarians and library staff to help connect with Spanish Language Patrons using books

Selecting Spanish Language Books

Diversity is an important cultural aspect of the library.  This is why it is important to have foreign language books.  Most libraries now days have a Spanish collection.  Having high demand books from the United States and from Spanish/Latin countries is a a great way to connect the Spanish patron with the collection. The most important thing to keep in mind with a Spanish collection is knowing your Spanish population "country of origin." To conquer the language barrier, the librarian can attend local and international book fairs.  You could also sign up for the publishers, vendors, and distributors newsletters.  

Survival Websites For Librarians With Spanish Patrons

Language Barrier in Library Setting

This video was created by the BCCLS Special Population Task Force.  It will help you communicate with a person who is not an English speaker using technology.

References

Las comadres - latino literature - connecting latinas all over the world through literature. (n.d.). Retrieved December 2, 2018, from http://lascomadres.com/latinolit/

Librarian, L. to. (2018, October 12). Spanish-language collection development: Retrieved December 2, 2018, from https://librariantolibrarian.wordpress.com/2018/10/12/spanish-language-collection-development/

Reviews, L. J. (n.d.). Selecting spanish | collection development: spanish-language fiction & beyond, may 1, 2016. Retrieved December 2, 2018, from http://www.libraryjournal.com/?detailStory=selecting-spanish-collection-development-spanish-language-fiction-beyond-may-1-2016

Reforma: the national association to promote library & information services to latinos and the spanish speaking. (n.d.). Retrieved December 2, 2018, from http://www.reforma.org/content.asp?pl=9&sl=59&contentid=59

 

Best Places To Find Spanish Books

Spanish Services, Collection Development & Acquisitions Librarian