Skip to main content

Media Literacy: Media Literacy Education

Helyx - INFO 506 - Media Literacy Education

The first page, Teaching Media Literacy contains resources for establishing the field of Media Literacy and Media Literacy Education.  The second page, Curriculum Resources, contains resources for building lesson plans and curricula that examine media literacy, representation, media ownership, and media production. This guide provides resources for individuals at a variety of ages and skill levels. 

Media is anything we consume that is produced with the goal of transmitting information.  Generally, we think of media as newspapers, television, photographs, but media also includes billboards, social media, and advertisements of all forms. 

Media Literacy is a subset of Information Literacy, that focuses on the tools necessary to understand and analyze messages from the media. Media literacy can include an analysis of news, media representation, advertisements.

We are all, whether we like it or not, consumers of multiple forms of media daily.  By gaining media literacy skills we learn how to stop being passive consumers of the omnipresent media and become engaged participants in our media landscape. Media literacy education may involve the incorporation of media production as a means of taking ownership over media messaging. 

Organizations

logo of the National Association for Media Literacy Education

National Association for Media Literacy Education promotes the practice and principles of media literacy education.

 

The Media Education Lab promotes digital and media literacy education through scholarship, training, and publication of resources. 

The News Literacy Project is a nonprofit dedicated to resources for teaching students how to analyze contemporary news for legitimacy.

The Center for Media Literacy promotes tools, professional development, research, and resources that integrate the skills of media literacy necessary for life in the 21st century. 

 

The Center for Media and Information Literacy operates out of Temple University and acts as a hub for research and professional development on issues involving media literacy.

 

The Center for News Literacy at Stony Brook University educates students and teachers about News Literacy.  The program is aimed primarily at college students and educators but there is a high school teacher training program as well. 

 

logo for The Alliance for Media Arts and Culture

The Alliance for Media Arts and Culture is committed to fostering growth and impact in the media arts field. 

Infographic courtesy of Media Literacy Week, an annual event dedicated to promoting the practice of media literacy. 

The Core Principles of Media Literacy Education

  • Media Literacy Education requires active inquiry and critical thinking about the messages we receive and create.
  • Media Literacy Education expands the concept of literacy to include all forms of media (i.e., reading and writing).
  • Media Literacy Education builds and reinforces skills for learners of all ages. Like print literacy, those skills necessitate integrated, interactive, and repeated practice.
  • Media Literacy Education develops informed, reflective and engaged participants essential for a democratic society.
  • Media Literacy Education recognizes that media are a part of culture and function as agents of socialization.
  • Media Literacy Education affirms that people use their individual skills, beliefs and experiences to construct their own meanings from media messages.

From: National Association for Media Literacy Education Core Principles of Media Literacy Education in the United States

Librarian

For Research

ERIC is the most widely used index of content related to education.  The database is maintained by the US National Library of Education and the index contains articles, books, curriculum, and more. 

The Journal of Media Literacy Education is an open access, peer-reviewed journal with content geared towards expanding development and research in the area of media literacy education. 

The Clearing House is a peer-reviewed educational journal offering articles that explore techniques and practice for education in middle and high school settings.

The Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy is a peer-reviewed publication highlighting practices for improving opportunities for achievement in literacy of learners ages 12 and up. 

Studies in Art Education is a quarterly publication examining the theory and practice around art education, human development, curriculum, and instruction.  Access requires membership, except for the 6 most cited articles which can be viewed in full online

The Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media is a peer-reviewed quarterly publication that examines trends in electronic media and digital communication.  The journal invites content that pulls from a wide variety of disciplines. 

The Media & Values Magazine Archive contains digitized issues from the Media & Values magazine, published during the 70s, 80s, and 90s. The trade magazine is considered a reflection of the early media literacy movement in the United States.