Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Software and Hardware Recommendations
The Best Video Editing Software
Beginning video creators often have questions regarding which video editing software they should choose to learn and use. This article from the January 2020 issue of Videomaker details the advantages and disadvantages of the most common video editing software packages. It also recommends software packages that would work best for various situations.
The Best Camcorders
In this article from the November 2019 issue of Videomaker, the editors review the camcorders they feel are best-in-class for the year. They suggest camcorders for specific situations, too.
The Best Mirrorless Cameras & DSLRs for Video
Some DSLR and mirrorless cameras also have the ability to record video. This article from the January 2020 issue of Videomaker details the editors' top choices for cameras in this category.
Apple-Only Video Editors
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Software-training experts David Pogue and Aaron Miller teach readers how to use iMovie, Apple's free video editing software for MacOS, iPad, and iPhone. Readers will learn how to get their footage into iMovie, assemble it into a film, use green screens, and apply special effects. The authors have devoted an entire section of the books to filming and producing video using only an iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch. Attention is also given to using iMovie to upload videos to YouTube and various social media services.
My iMovie by
Call Number: TR896 .G768 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
This book is a useful reference for individuals who want to use iMovie to edit their videos. The material is arranged by task, and readers are instructed on how to complete each task using a full-color, step-by-step guide. The authors cover the basics of digital video editing, image stabilization, voiceovers, and using themes.
From IMovie to Final Cut Pro X by
Publication Date: 2017-03-27
In this book, Tom Wolsky teaches individuals who are familiar with Apple’s free iMovie video editing software how to transition to its commercial Final Cut Pro X software so that they can take advantage of its advanced features. The author has placed special emphasis on video creators that have been creating videos with Apple’s iPhone or iPad hardware.
Final Cut Pro X Beyond the Basics by
Call Number: TK6680.5 .W64 2018eb
Publication Date: 2017-09-11
Tim Wolsky has written this book for individuals who already have video editing skills who would like to learn how to do professional video editing in Final Cut Pro X. He covers advanced topics such as designing workflows, storage, metadata creation, and advanced-level special effects. People who want to use Final Cut Pro X to add animations to their video will find it beneficial.
Final Cut Pro X 10. 4 - Apple Pro Training Series by
Call Number: TR899
Publication Date: 2018-08-17
Final Cut Pro X is a commercial video editing software package produced by Apple for its Mac operating system. In this book, Brendan Boykin uses a single project to teach students how to use the software in the same way it is used by professional video editors. The initial lessons will teach students how to make rough videos, and the remaining lessons focus on skills that will refine the video into a finished product. Students who finish the course should also be adequately prepared to take Apple’s certification exam for Final Cut Pro X if they desire. Patrons with the Mac operating system who need more video editing features than what iMovie offers will find this book most helpful.
Mastering Microsoft Teams by
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
This book will teach readers how to use Teams, Microsoft's collaborative work environment software. Businesses and students with video production needs will be most interested in its video and audio conferencing capabilities. Since it allows users to give team PowerPoint presentations, it can be combined with screen capture software to create business presentations for clients, class presentations, and panel discussions for the community. A course on Teams is also available in the video tutorials section of this guide.
Take Control of Zoom by
Publication Date: May 2020
Zoom is a popular video-conferencing application. In addition to teaching people the essential features of Zoom, this book provides recommendations for improving video quality, selecting microphones for sound quality and comfort, and how to effectively switch between speakers during a video conference. It also addresses how to record video of meetings for online distribution.
SharePoint 2019 by
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
SharePoint facilitates collaboration through managed sharing and concurrent editing of documents. This book will help readers master SharePoint's features. Individuals with video production needs can use this software to collaborate with peers on scripts and project proposals remotely.
Teachers and Trainers
Rapid Media Development for Trainers by
Publication Date: 2016-12-31
Jonathan Hall, a professional training video producer, designed this book for teachers and trainers who must create their own video courses without large budgets, expensive equipment, or any staff. It focuses on producing quality courses using inexpensive equipment. Special attention is given to developing fast and sustainable workflows for individual teachers and trainers. He also reveals tips and tricks for developing engaging instructional videos that he learned while working at the BBC.
The Remote Facilitator's Pocket Guide by
Publication Date: 2020-06-30
For teachers and individuals who must use video conferencing software to conduct meetings and classes, this book provides guidance on how to improve the quality of discussion in remote meetings and courses. Topics covered include making meetings more engaging and dealing with the impact of different personality types on virtual group discussions.
Editing Software for Multiple Operating Systems
Adobe Premiere Pro Classroom in a Book (2020 Release) by
Publication Date: 2020-04-03
This book offers a comprehensive text-based course with which to learn Adobe Premiere Pro 2020. Using downloadable content, students learn the features of the software package by completing seventeen projects. The initial lessons teach basic skills like organizing footage, adding audio, transitions, creating title screens, and exporting video. The remaining lessons cover more advanced features like color correction and sound mixing. This book is an excellent resource for patrons who want to develop a firm grasp of the features Adobe Premiere Pro offers.
The Cool Stuff in Premiere Pro by
Publication Date: 2017-10-13
This book focuses on developing workflows for faster video production in Adobe Premiere Pro. As such, it is written for people who are already familiar with the basic features of the software but who would like to learn the tips and tricks that will make them more productive. Topics covered include customizing the user interface, automated workflows, templates, and advanced video refinement techniques.
Learn Adobe Premiere Pro CC for Video Communication (2018 Release) by
Publication Date: 2018-08-17
This text-based course focuses on preparing students for the Adobe Premiere Pro CC Adobe Certified Associate exam. It covers the basic elements of video editing that an individual would need for an entry-level video editing job. The lessons are project-based and intended to give students skills they can apply in the real world.
Avid Editing by
Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Avid is a professional video editing software suite. This book is written for individuals who are new to video editing as well as people who have some video editing experience. Readers will learn to cut film, add audio, create titles, export videos, and more. A companion website provides downloadable footage and project files that will let readers practice their skills using the same projects presented in the book.
Blender for Video Production Quick Start Guide by
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
Blender is a free, open source animation suite that can also be used to edit videos. This book focuses on how to us Blender to edit video and incorporate animated transitions and infographics. It also covers voiceovers and sound editing as well as exporting videos for online distribution. Readers who want to do light video editing with short animated introductions and credits will find this book very helpful.
PowerPoint 2019 for Dummies by
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
People who want to create online videos may not think of PowerPoint as a video production tool, but Microsoft's presentation software can add animated graphics, videos, and prerecorded audio to presentations. It can also record video of a presenter for inclusion in the presentation, and it can record and convert presentations to video file formats for online distribution. As such, it is an ideal tool for creating video presentations for businesses or students. This book covers PowerPoint's basic features, and it includes instruction on using PowerPoint to create videos.
Windows-Only Video Editors
Windows Movie Maker Is Back: How to Use Windows 10's Hidden Video Editor
Microsoft discontinued its free video editing software, Windows Movie Maker, a few years ago. However, Microsoft provides its functionality in the Windows 10 Photos app, which comes with every copy of Windows 10. This tutorial teaches individuals how to use this feature to do basic video editing with software that is already installed on their Windows desktop.
The DSLR Filmmaker's Handbook by
Call Number: TR860 .A534 2012
Publication Date: 2011-11-29
Filming with a DSLR camera that has video functionality can save individuals thousands of dollars that would have been spent on a camcorder. However, filming with a DSLR camera can poses unique challenges. This book teaches people to follow a filming process that ensures they can use their DSLR to record quality footage.
GoPro Cameras for Dummies by
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Readers who would like to incorporate point-of-view footage using GoPro or other mounted cameras will appreciate this book. They will learn the basics of using a GoPro camera, how to take time-lapse footage, and how to shoot scenes underwater.
Nonfiction Sound and Story for Film and Video by
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
In this book, an experienced producer and a professional sound designer teach beginning video creators how to use sound to enhance their films and online content. Topics covered include basic equipment layouts, surround sound, and accessibility.
Audio Engineering 101 by
Publication Date: 2017-10-16
This book offers a friendly introduction to audio engineering. People who would like to improve the sound quality of their videos will find lots useful information regarding microphone selection and equipment arrangements. It also covers basic sound editing software.
Video Filming and Audio Recording on a Budget for Beginners
The course addresses sound quality, video production, and video editing. It also emphasizes equipment, software, and techniques designed for individuals with little to no budget. People without any experience recording and editing videos for the web will find this instructional video series extremely helpful as a quick-start guide.
Learn Adobe Premiere Pro and Audition Fast: Beginners Guide
Adobe Premiere Pro and Audition are powerful video editing software tools, but beginning video editors are often intimidated by this software’s numerous features. Moreover, many books and courses for this software are comprehensive and take substantial amounts of time to complete. This course aims to teach students only the basic features they need to begin producing videos quickly. Topics covered include importing video, color correction, audio editing, video editing, and exporting videos.
Adobe Premiere Pro CC Fundamentals
Individuals who need an overview of the features of Adobe Premiere Pro CC will find this course helpful. It covers the software’s user interface, organizing footage, editing, color correction, image stabilization for shaky footage, simple special effects, and encoding footage in assorted file formats.
Video Production 101: Learn by Video
In this course, Dave Basulto offers a comprehensive guide to creating and producing video for individuals who are new to the process. Unlike courses that cover software or hardware, this course uses projects to teach students how to create stories, select equipment, edit, and distribute finished videos. The projects are practical in nature and include livestreaming as well as creating commercials, news stories, and documentary films.
Green Screen Production Master Class: Learn by Video
In this course, video compositing expert Jeff Foster teaches beginners how to add green screen functionality to their videos. Topics covered include when to use a green screen, types of equipment, setting up the recording environment, and how to process videos that use green screens with video editing software.
Hands-On Adobe Premiere Pro 2020
Entrepreneurs who need to make their own commercials for digital distribution or television broadcast may prefer to learn how to use Adobe Premiere Pro 2020 using this course. In the class, students work on a single project in which they create a commercial for television broadcast. Along the way, they learn all the basic software features and techniques needed to create a finished product. This course is also a good choice for people who want to learn to add title screens, animations, and transitions to their videos.
Adobe Premiere Pro CC: Greenscreen, Captions, Proxies and More
In this course, Will Bartlett, a professional video editor who owns a Toronto-based production company, teaches students how to work with Adobe Premiere Pro CC’s green screen features. Additional topics of interest include making closed captioning for videos, editing out background noise and hisses, and creating slow motion special effects.
Adobe After Effects CC: Tips, Tricks, and Techniques
Adobe After Effects CC enables video producers to add advanced special effects to their projects. This upper-level course is best for individuals who are already familiar with the Adobe suite of video editing software. Topics covered include 2-D and 3-D special effects as well as animated characters and infographics.
Building an E-Learning Course with Camtasia Studio 8
Teachers who find themselves delivering e-learning courses from home will benefit from some parts of this course, which focuses on developing an online course using Camtasia Studio 8. Camtasia Studio 8 not the current version of Camtasia, but the components of the course related to designing e-learning course are worthwhile for teachers since the principles they contain can be used to develop courses with any video recording software.
Davinci Resolve Tutorials
DaVinci Resolve is a well-reviewed video editing software suite that works on Windows, Mac, and Linux operating systems. Its developer, Blackmagic Design, offers a series of training videos which cover the basic features of the software suite. The basic software package is free. Blackmagic Design sells an advanced version of the software as well as specialized video editing hardware for power users, but none of these add-ons are required to for basic video editing tasks.
While many people have used Microsoft PowerPoint to create slides for presentations, they may not be familiar with its video production capabilities. PowerPoint allows users to create video presentations with audio as well as picture-in-picture video of the presenter if desired. These features do not require the use of screen capture software. Additionally, PowerPoint allows videos to be embedded within presentations. This feature can be used creatively when using PowerPoint to create video presentations. These courses cover PowerPoint 2019 and PowerPoint 365, the online version of the software. The user interface for each version is slightly different, so individuals should select courses for the version they intend to use.
PowerPoint 365 Beginner
This course is for students who have never used PowerPoint or those who have never used the online version. It covers the basic features of making a presentation. It is a prerequisite for the PowerPoint 365 Advanced course. People who are already familiar with the basic features of PowerPoint 365 may skip this course in favor of the PowerPoint 365 Advanced course.
PowerPoint 365 Advanced
This course examines the advanced features of PowerPoint 365. It covers many productivity enhancing techniques for constructing presentations. The course has a modular design, so people who would like to learn about the video production capabilities of the software immediately can skip to those sections of the course. This course assumes the user has basic knowledge of PowerPoint 365. This knowledge can be obtained by taking the PowerPoint 365 Beginner course if needed.
PowerPoint 2019 Introduction
PowerPoint 2019 is the current desktop version of PowerPoint. This course will teach users how to create presentations and use PowerPoint’s basic features. PowerPoint 2019’s user interface differs slightly from PowerPoint 365, so users should pick the version of the course that matches their own software. Individuals who are already familiar with PowerPoint 2019’s basic features may skip this course and take the PowerPoint 2019 Advanced course instead.
PowerPoint 2019 Advanced
The PowerPoint 2019 Advanced course covers several productivity enhancing features. Video producers will be most interested in the parts of the course that cover audio recordings, using webcams to add video of the presenter, and video creation. They may also be interested in the lessons relating to text animation and slide transitions. The course assumes the user has a basic understanding of PowerPoint 2019. If necessary, the PowerPoint 2019 Introduction course can provide the required knowledge.
Office 365 Teams, 2nd Edition
This course teaches students how to use Microsoft Teams in Office 365. Teams is a collaborative working environment for groups. Businesses and students with video production needs will be most interested in its video and audio conferencing features. The meetings feature offers users the ability to make group PowerPoint presentations that can be captured using screen recording software. Students and businesses can use this arrangement to record and distribute multi-presenter remote presentations for sales pitches, class projects, and webinars.
Microsoft Office 365 SharePoint for End Users
Microsoft SharePoint is a collaborative workspace that lets teams manage shared access to documents, and it allows concurrent editing of documents in the Office 365 suite. These features are useful for groups that need to plan and script videos remotely.
Video Production Overviews and Film Theory
Shoot, Edit, Share by
Publication Date: 2016-11-04
The authors created this illustrated guide to video production for absolute beginners. It focuses on developing a narrative for different kinds of projects and audiences, developing engaging video, editing, graphic design, and audio. It also has a sections devoted to developing viral videos and best practices for sharing videos online.
Video Compression Handbook by
Publication Date: 2018-07-03
Since most video distribution is moving online, it is important to understand how to best compress and optimize videos to save bandwidth while preserving image quality. This book will take readers on a deep-dive into the video compression process. The authors cover popular tools and best practices. Specific recommendations are given for compressing videos for different online applications.
Video Production Handbook by
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
This handbook aims to give readers an overview of current video production techniques from start to finish. Topics covered include preplanning, shooting, directing, editing, and distribution. The authors provide recommendations for different budgets, and they also provide useful information on using DSLR cameras and LED lighting equipment.
Making Media by
Publication Date: 2017-11-20
Making Media explores the theory of video production. The book focuses on the creative aspects film production rather than specific tasks. It is a good choice for readers who want to develop their personal aesthetic, and it also has a special section devoted aerial filming using drones.
Introduction to Video Production by
Publication Date: 2017-11-14
Compesi and Gomez created this book to give film students an overview of modern film production. It is suitable for beginning video creators who are interested in learning how the parts of the video production process are tied together.
Introduction to Cinematography by
Publication Date: 2018-12-28
Tania Hosier created this book to give students a strong foundation in camera techniques and using lighting effectively in scenes. This course is exhaustive, so it is not a good choice for beginners. However, it is an excellent resource for people with basic video editing skills who want to better understand how to control light while shooting their scenes. Ms. Hosier also provides readers with helpful low-budget alternatives for expensive lighting equipment.
Grammar of the Shot by
Publication Date: 2017-07-20
This books aids aspiring filmmakers by teaching them how to compose their shots, arrange their lighting, and film in a way that reduces the time it takes to edit their films. Readers can also download sample footage from the author's website to practice the techniques recommended in the book.
Image credits for cover art not licensed through Syndetics are located in the "More . . ." section for those images.