Skip to main content

Black History Month: References

Provides information about Black History Month and some notable African Americans from throughout history.

The following are the citations for the photos and videos included in this LibGuide broken down by the pages that they appear on.

African American History Month

Global Citizen. (2017, March 6). Kids explain black history month [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/Lzt3gFgYVYk

PBS Kids. (2017, February 1). PBS learning media: Black history month: PBS kids [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/f00AatzvxC0

Activists

Frederick Douglass [Oil on canvas]. (1844). National Portrait Gallery, Washington, D.C., United States. https://npg.si.edu/object/npg_NPG.74.45

Frederick Douglass [Quarter-plate ambrotype]. (1856). National Portrait Gallery, Washington, D.C., United States. https://npg.si.edu/object/npg_NPG.74.75

Fresberg Cartoon. [Educational Videos for Students (Cartoons on Bullying, Leadership, & More)]. (2015, January 31). Frederick Douglass for kids (Cartoon biography) Educational videos for students (Black history month) [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/GtKY4bLUxC0

Hobson, J. [TED-Ed]. (2018, July 24). The breathtaking courage of Harriet Tubman [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/Dv7YhVKFqbQ

Martin Luther King, Jr. [Photograph]. (1964). The Nobel Foundation. https://www.nobelprize.org/images/king-13174-portrait-mini-2x.jpg

Powelson, B.F. (1868-1869). Carte-de-visit portrait of Harriet Tubman [Photograph]. National Portrait Gallery, Washington, D.C., United States. https://npg.si.edu/object/nmaahc_2017.30.47

Scherman, R. (1963, August 28). Civil rights march on Washington, D.C. [Photograph]. National Archives, College Park, MD, United States. https://catalog.archives.gov/id/542014

Squyer, H.S. (1885). Harriet Tubman [Photograph]. National Portrait Gallery, Washington, D.C., United States. https://npg.si.edu/object/npg_NPG.2006.86

SullenToys.com. (2011, January 20). Martin luther king - I have a dream speech - August 28, 1963 [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/smEqnnklfYs

Tarby Studios. (1908). Albumen print of Harriet Tubman [Albumen silver print]. National Portrait Gallery, Washington, D.C., United States. https://npg.si.edu/object/nmaahc_2009.50.2

Warren, G.K. (1876). Frederick Douglass [Albumen silver print]. National Portrait Gallery, Washington, D.C., United States. https://npg.si.edu/object/npg_S_NPG.91.75

Athletes

ABC News. (2019, January 31). Jackie Robinson delivers passionate speech at 1964 civil rights rally [Video]. ABC News. https://abcn.ws/2Bd9W2q

ABC Television. (1965). Jackie Robinson ABC sports announcer 1965 [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Jackie_robinson_abc_sports_announcer_1965.jpg

Cavett, D. [The Dick Cavett Show]. (2018, October 8). Muhammad Ali says educate yourself before boxing [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/5fidGQHtixI

Fawcett Publications. (1951). [Front cover of Jackie Robinson comic book] [Halftone photomechanical print]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/item/97519504/

Roseberg, I. (1967). [Muhammad Ali, bust portrait] [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/96500238/

Sandberg, C. (1954). [Jackie Robinson of the Brooklyn Dodgers, posed and ready to swing] [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/97518921/

Si.robi. (2016). [Venus Williams poised to hit a tennis ball] [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Williams_V._WM16_(25)_(28418679505).jpg

Smith, J.M. (2011). Venus and Serena 1993 [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Venus_and_Serena_1993.jpg

Smith, J.M. (2018). Muhammad Ali in 1997 [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Muhammad_Ali_in_1997.jpg

Stango, J. (n.d.). [Pop art painting of Muhammad Ali] [Painting]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:StangoAli.jpg

Thompson, C. (2012). Serena Williams wins gold [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Serena_Williams_wins_Gold_cropped.jpg

US Open Tennis Championships. (2018, August 31). Venus and Serena Williams: A sister story - 2018 us open [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/tvfu9ku5GtA

Authors

Awetblackbough. (2010, July 25). Langston Hughes reads the negro speaks of rivers [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/5mFp40WJbsA

Clinton Library. (1993). [Maya Angelou recites a poem at the Clinton Inauguration] [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Angelou_at_Clinton_inauguration.jpg

Delano, J. (1942). [Langston Hughes, half-length portrait, facing left] [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2005687122/

Jackson, L. (2011). [President Obama places the Presidential Medal of Freedom around Maya Angelou's neck] [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Angelou_Obama.jpg

Kennedy, S., Halpert, H., Hurston, Z. N., Halpert, H. & Hurston, Z. N. (1939) Shove It Over. Jacksonville, Florida [Audio]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/item/flwpa000006/

Oprah Winfrey Network [OWN]. (2014, May 28). Dr. Maya Angelou: "Be a rainbow in someone else's cloud" [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/0nYXFletWH4

Parks, G. (1943). Portrait of Langston Hughes [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2017858893/

Smith, J.M. (2019). Maya Angelou [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Maya_Angelou_(47327455761).jpg

Van Vechten, C. (1936). [Portrait of Langston Hughes] [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2004663043/

Van Vechten, C. (1938). [Portrait of Zora Neale Hurston] [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2004663047/

[Zora Hurston, half-length portrait, standing, facing slightly left, beating the hountar, or mama drum] [Photograph]. (1937). Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/93513271/

Zora Neale Hurston, 1901-1960 [Photograph]. (1935-1943). Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2004672085/

Politicians

Barack Obama Presidential Library. (2012). [The Obama and Biden families celebrating their election night victory] [Photograph]. National Archives. https://www.obamalibrary.gov/sites/default/files/V110612DL-1118.jpg

Barack Obama Presidential Library. (2015). [The Obama family outside of the White House on Easter Sunday] [Photograph]. National Archives. https://www.obamalibrary.gov/sites/default/files/P040515PS-0034.jpg

Bring U.S. together. Vote Chisholm 1972, unbought and unbossed [Poster]. (1972). National Portrait Gallery, Washington, D.C., United States. https://npg.si.edu/object/npg_NPG.2015.113

NYC Department of Records and Information Services. (2015, April 13). Shirley Chisholm: Declares presidential bid, January 25, 1972 [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/y3JCX3WxBik

The Obama White House. (2009, January 20). President Barack Obama's inaugural address [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/3PuHGKnboNY

[Official portraits of the 1976 U.S. Supreme Court: Justice Thurgood Marshall] [Photograph]. (1976). Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2002721282/

O'Halloran, T.J. (1957). Thurgood Marshall, attorney for the NAACP [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2003688132/

O'Halloran, T.J. (1972). Congresswoman Shirley Chisholm announcing her candidacy for presidential nomination [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2003688123/

Okamoto, Y.R. (1967). Thurgood Marshall [Photograph]. National Archives. https://catalog.archives.gov/id/2803441

Souza, P. (2012). President Barack Obama [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:President_Barack_Obama.jpg

UCLA Film & Television Archive [UCLAFilmTVArchive]. (2013, May 6). "Thurgood Marshall nominated to supreme court" (Washington, DC, 6/13/1967 [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/ri0NwkwkkoE

Women at the democratic national convention - Miami beach, florida [Photograph]. (1972). Florida Memory. https://www.floridamemory.com/items/show/36455

Scientists

Children's Media Archive. (2020, February 20). From out of the past! Voice of George Washington Carver [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/ECbxllNsDmc

George Washington Carver [Photograph]. (1910). Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:George_Washington_Carver_c1910.jpg

[George Washington Carver at work in his laboratory] [Photograph]. (n.d.). Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Carver1web.jpg

NASA. (1966). Katherine Johnson at NASA, in 1966 [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Katherine_Johnson_at_NASA,_in_1966.jpg

NASA. (1980). [Katherine Johnson at NASA Langley Research Center in 1980] [Photograph]. NASA. https://crgis.ndc.nasa.gov/historic/File:1980-L-00022.jpg

NASA. (1992). [Mae Jemison at Florida's Kennedy Space Center] [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mae-jemison.jpg

NASA. (1992). [Mae Jemison floating in space] [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mae_Jemison_floating_in_space_during_STS-47.jpg

NASA. (2015). [Katherine Johnson after receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom] [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Katherine_Johnson_medal.jpeg

NASA Langley Research Center. (2017, September 22). Katherine Johnson interview, Sept. 2017 [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/FgW2kpNQ7BY

Official portrait of STS-47 mission specialist Mae C. Jemison in LES [Photograph]. (1992). NASA. https://images.nasa.gov/details-S92-40463.html

PBS. (2014, September 22). Mae Jemsion, first african-american woman in space [Video]. PBS. https://www.pbs.org/video/makers-women-who-make-america-mae-jemison-first-african-american-woman-space/

Rothstein, A. (1942). Tuskegee institute, Alabama. Dr. George Washington Carver [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2017872920/